„“  - Cristiana de Marchi / Günter Zehetner

ausstellungreihe_2021_uebersicht-christ_guenter_21.jpg

We are very happy to announce the next exhibition from the series „“  presenting works by Cristiana de Marchi (Beirut, Dubai, Vienna) and Günter Zehetner (Frankfurt) in October, November. Please join us at STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31, Frankfurt am Main.

 

In the ongoing „“ series two artistic positions are placed face to face in the antechamber of STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31. The artists react directly to selected works or pre-existing works are being placed together. These two “different” positions meet one another for a limited time in a determined space. As a dialog is entered, the works either resonate harmoniously or clash. 

In this debate forum further “Pairings” will be brought together. The discussion will either fade into the background or move the dialog forward.

 

In October, November 2021, STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31 will present works and words by artists Cristiana de Marchi and Günter Zehetner.

 

 

Bringing together Cristiana de Marchi and Günter Zehetner - two artists who write, or otherwise two writers who draw with light, - the present edition of “Pairings” reflects not only on the polyedric nature of creative expression but also on the potential of establishing and sustaining correspondences which present revelatory moments to their very participants.

Writing to the self as much as writing to the other, de Marchi and Zehetner reveal a passionate attachment to their respective practices, while also exploring the potential intersection of themes and modes of manifesting their personal universes. The originating correspondence becomes pretextual as it reveals a deeper meaning to the noun: not only the words which are exchanged in a written form create a correspondence, but especially the consonance between the two, as they venture and expose the intimacy of their daily exercise.

 

 

“Fadesse sounds familiar in its Portuguese despair of consolation, in the morbidity of a loss that is allowed to be. 
Not an order, not a direction, not the cleanliness of an imposed structure, rather the slipping, the sliding away of a not-so-well-kept secret, of a past desire. […]

I know I was writing on that same day, November 25th. I always write on odd days, or pretend I do. Thoughts for odd days, journals of inconsistency, notes like dispatches, war diaries of an obstinacy – holding the post – along a forgotten frontier ”. (Cristiana de Marchi)

Cristiana de Marchi, from a Letter to Günter Zehetner, December 3rd, 2020

 

“Do you write Poems regularly? Every day or some in one week? I make drawings every day and they are somehow like poems, they are picturing inner states like your Poems. […] As I said, I do them every day, they are simple, raw and somehow Art Brut. They come out directly, it does not last more than 2 to 5 minutes to complete them, and they all get a title. They are somehow rude, raw, but also delicate and often sexually connoted. I would like to see them both on the wall. Both have an inner world in them, both have their own very personal syntax. The use of language and drawing follows their own singular, personal regularities, not following common rules.”. (Günter Zehetner)

Günter Zehetner, from a Letter to Cristiana de Marchi, January 21st, 2021

 

 

Frankfurt-based philosopher Angelica Horn have been commissioned essays about the evening’s exhibition, which will be released on the digital platform of Studio Space Lange Strasse 31 after the event (https://www.studiospacelangestrasse31.net ).

 

 

About the works:

 

Cristiana de Marchi, Thoughts for odd days, 2018-ongoing.

Excerpts from Cristiana’s Thoughts for odd days will accompany the presentation of a selection of short videos, based on fictional correspondences, thus expanding on the notion of duality and introducing a voyeuristic component to the intimacy of an exchange of impressions, memories and existential angoisse.

 

Günter Zehetner, Drawings, 2020-2021. Paper, ink and coloured pencil on paper, cm 21 x 29.7

Presenting a selection of Zehetner’s daily drawings, all intentionally created within an extremely brief timeframe, the artist and writer reflects on parallels between the two practices, almost introducing his drawings as visual translations of automatic writing.

 

Previous "pairs" were:
Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila
Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn
Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn
Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn
Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi
Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn
Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller
Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Angelica Horn
Hassan Sharif & Carolin Kropff. Text Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn
Mohammed Kazem & Ekrem Yalcindag, Text: Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn.

Coming next:
Exhibitions for 2022 are in preparation.

The exhibition is kindly supported by Kulturamt Frankfurt.

logo_support_edited.png

„“  - Cristiana de Marchi / Günter Zehetner

ausstellungreihe_2021_uebersicht-christ_guenter_21.jpg

Wir freuen uns sehr, die nächste Ausstellung aus der Reihe „“ ankündigen zu können, die Werke von Cristiana de Marchi (Dubai, Beirut) und Günter Zehetner (Frankfurt) präsentiert. Wir laden Sie herzlich ein in den STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31, Frankfurt am Main, Oktober/November. (Der genaue Termin wird in Kürze bekannt gegeben.)

 

In der fortlaufenden Reihe „“ werden im Vorraum des STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 zwei künstlerische Positionen einander gegenübergestellt. Die Künstler reagieren direkt auf ausgewählte Werke oder es werden bereits vorhandene Arbeiten zusammengeführt. Diese beiden „unterschiedlichen" Positionen begegnen sich für eine begrenzte Zeit in einem festgelegten Raum. In einem Dialog treten die Werke entweder harmonisch in Resonanz oder prallen aufeinander. 

In diesem Diskussionsforum werden weitere „Paare" zusammengeführt. Die Diskussion wird entweder in den Hintergrund treten oder den Dialog weiter vorantreiben.

 

In Oktober, November 2021, präsentiert der STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 Werke der Künstler

Cristina de March und Günter Zehetner.

Die vorliegende Ausgabe von "Pairings" bringt Cristiana de Marchi und Günter Zehetner zusammen - zwei Künstler, die schreiben, oder anders gesagt, zwei Schriftsteller, die mit Licht zeichnen - und reflektiert nicht nur über die vielschichtige Natur des kreativen Ausdrucks, sondern auch über das Potenzial, Korrespondenzen herzustellen und aufrechtzuerhalten, die den Teilnehmern selbst offenbarende Momente bieten.
Indem sie sowohl an sich selbst als auch an den anderen schreiben, offenbaren de Marchi und Zehetner eine leidenschaftliche Verbundenheit mit ihren jeweiligen Praktiken, während sie gleichzeitig die potenziellen Überschneidungen von Themen und Formen der Manifestation ihrer persönlichen Universen erkunden. Die ursprüngliche Korrespondenz wird zum Vorwand, da sie eine tiefere Bedeutung des Substantivs offenbart: Nicht nur die Worte, die in schriftlicher Form ausgetauscht werden, schaffen eine Korrespondenz, sondern vor allem der Gleichklang zwischen den beiden, da sie die Intimität ihrer täglichen Übung wagen und offenlegen.

"Fadesse klingt vertraut in seiner portugiesischen Trostlosigkeit, in der Morbidität eines Verlustes, den man geschehen lässt. 
Nicht eine Ordnung, nicht eine Richtung, nicht die Sauberkeit einer aufgezwungenen Struktur, sondern das Entgleiten, das Abgleiten eines nicht so gut gehüteten Geheimnisses, eines vergangenen Wunsches. [...]
Ich weiß, dass ich an jenem Tag, dem 25. November, geschrieben habe. Ich schreibe immer an ungeraden Tagen, oder ich tue so, als ob. Gedanken für ungerade Tage, Tagebücher der Ungereimtheit, Notizen wie Depeschen, Kriegstagebücher eines Eigensinns, der den Posten hält, entlang einer vergessenen Grenze " . (Cristiana de Marchi)

Cristiana de Marchi, aus einem Brief an Günter Zehetner, 3. Dezember 2020

"Schreibst du regelmäßig Gedichte? Jeden Tag oder einige in einer Woche? Ich mache jeden Tag Zeichnungen, und die sind irgendwie wie Gedichte, sie stellen innere Zustände dar, wie deine Gedichte. [...] Wie ich schon sagte, ich mache sie jeden Tag, sie sind einfach, roh und irgendwie Art Brut. Sie kommen direkt heraus, es dauert nicht länger als 2 bis 5 Minuten, sie zu vollenden, und sie bekommen alle einen Titel. Sie sind irgendwie grob, roh, aber auch zart und oft sexuell konnotiert. Ich würde sie gerne gemeinsam an der Wand sehen. Sie haben beide eine innere Welt in sich, beide haben ihre eigene, sehr persönliche Syntax. Der Gebrauch von Sprache und Zeichnung folgt ihren eigenen, persönlichen Gesetzmäßigkeiten und nicht den üblichen Regeln." . (Günter Zehetner)
Günter Zehetner, aus einem Brief an Cristiana de Marchi, 21. Januar 2021

Über die Werke:

Cristiana de Marchi, Thoughts for odd days, 2018-fortlaufend.
Auszüge aus Cristiana de Marchis Thoughts for odd days begleiten die Präsentation einer Auswahl von Kurzvideos, die auf fiktiven Korrespondenzen basieren und so den Begriff der Dualität erweitern und eine voyeuristische Komponente in die Intimität eines Austauschs von Eindrücken, Erinnerungen und existenziellen Angoissen einführen.

Günter Zehetner, Zeichnungen, 2020-2021. Papier, Tusche und Farbstift auf Papier, cm 21 x 29,7
Mit einer Auswahl von Zehetners täglichen Zeichnungen, die alle bewusst in einem extrem kurzen Zeitrahmen entstanden sind, reflektiert der Künstler und Schriftsteller über Parallelen zwischen den beiden Praktiken und stellt seine Zeichnungen fast als visuelle Übersetzungen des automatischen Schreibens vor.

Vorherige „Paare" waren:

Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila

Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn

Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn

Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn

Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi

Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn

Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Angelica Horn

Hassan Sharif & Carolin Kropff. Text Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn

Mohammed Kazem & Ekrem Yalcindag, Text: Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn.

 

Demnächst:

Ausstellungen für 2022 sind in Vorbereitung.

Die Ausstellung wird freundlicherweise vom Kulturamt Frankfurt unterstützt.

logo_support_edited.png