„“ - HASSAN SHARIF & CAROLIN KROPFF

Saturday, August 21 2021, 6 - 10 pm

Finding Freedom in Repetition. 

Carolin Kropff and Hassan Sharif in the exhibition series „“ 

Cristiana de Marchi 

 

 

 

                                    How privileged you are, to be still passionately

                                    Clinging to what you love;

                                    The forfeit of hope has not destroyed you”.

 

 

 

Entering and exiting familiar spaces seems to be a recurrent theme that unifies, while avoiding homogeneity, the artistic outcomes of both Sharif and Kropff.

After a formal academic training in the United Kingdom (1979-1984), upon his return to Dubai

Sharif abandons painting and fully focusses his attention on the creation of his now iconic Objects. It is only “at the turn of the millennium”, and increasingly more from 2006 onwards, once forced out of his old house-studio in Dubai’s popular neighbourhood of Satwa, and embarking in the last chapter of his career, coinciding with the foundation of The Flying House – a collective space serving as a magnifier to promote a small, yet solidly crystalized group of conceptual artists living and working in the United Arab Emirates – that Hassan Sharif returns to painting with renewed enthusiasm and a touch of naivety. 

 

Sharif’s Garden – C from 2001 is here paired with one of the smaller pieces from Carolin Kropff’s body of works titled Desert Gate, which were presented in a solo show at XVA Gallery in Dubai in 2010.  

The two artists look at the environment surrounding them from radically different perspectives: if in Garden – C a predominant attention is reserved to the domestic sphere, in a receding, internalised gaze that excludes even the most immediate urban landscape; Desert Gate, which is described as a “complex form of superior mirage”, is undeniably affected by the natural and constructed ambient embracing the artist, as well as by her past stage experience, in a disillusioned and yet complacent acknowledgement of the theatrical appearance of an urban panorama that is constantly on the verge of replacement. 

 

Hassan Sharif’s Table and Chairs belongs to the celebrated series of his Objects, which primarily consist of unintentionally arranged (in potentially infinite combinations) piles of mass-produced mundane products, which have been manipulated, disassembled and recomposed in various, artisanal forms by the artist.

Most of his Objects are characterized by a disaffection to the materiality and provenance of the modular objects utilized, with a prevalent inclination for inexpensive, popular items that can be acquired in bulk from local markets and are quite characteristic of Gulf low-class lifestyle. These materials are selected to address the extent consumerism and mass consumption has reached in his home country Dubai, although they function as a metaphor for globalized market strategies and acquired habits.

With this specific work though, Hassan Sharif narrates a different story, as the wood used for the work comes from a table and chairs donated to Sharif by Carolin Kropff on the verge of her departure from Dubai. By dismantling and incorporating the remnants of the now unrecognizable objects with his typical materials (natural fibres and colourful papier maché), Sharif reflects in a remarkably witty way upon trust and disillusion, the liberties of friendship, and the infinite potential of creation against any given – or assumed – sacredness. 

 

With Blue/Green/Red/Yellow, following a similar – although opposite in direction – path, in her response to Hassan Sharif, Carolin Kropff neglects the pictorial technique that she manages to perfection, and ventures into experimentation by teaching herself the English paper-piecing technique, a strenuously process-based method for creating potentially endless works by juxtaposing modular elements.

The wall piece consists of painted canvas, cut and sewn together again, where the paper needed for the paper piecing comes from a print of an older work of Kropff’s, belonging to her Paradise Lost series, that she started during her years in Dubai. While echoing Sharif’s modular process, Carolin Kropff also addresses another aspect equally at the core of Sharif’s artistic approach.

With a palpable sense of liberation from the rules and constraints of painting, Carolin embraces “carelessness” about the technique and engages with the very idea of progression as a constituent component to direct the compositional decisions that are taken without premeditation. Although the outcome is undeniably visually incomparable to her figurative paintings, nevertheless the layering method that has characterized their creation is maintained and informs the piece, as it translates to a physical action and process, almost at the level of handling, while engaging with a similar urgency of doing and with an extended observation. 

 

Positioned at the junction of improvisation and mastery, both artists grant themselves the freedom to evade technical perfection in favour of a process that is time-consuming and intimate as it develops, continuously readdressing decision-making in consciously playful ways.  A true celebration of process, in its endless repetition without ever repeating.

 

 

Louise Glück, “October”, in Averno, Carcanet Press, 2006

Paulina Kolczyinska, “Hassan Sharif. A Rare Bloom in the Desert”, in Catherine David (ed.), Hassan Sharif. Works 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, p. 61

Wikipedia

On Saturday, 21 of August 2021, between 6 - 10 pm, STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31 presented works by artists Carolin Kropff and Hassan Sharif. The short-term exhibition showed a homage by Carolin Kropff to her friend and mentor Hassan Sharif. Both artists share an interest in handicraft, repetition, inclusiveness and the passing on of knowledge.

Special thanks to Abdulraheem Sharif, without his support the exhibition would not have been possible.

 

“Positioned at the junction of improvisation and mastery, both artists grant themselves the freedom to evade technical perfection in favour of a process that is time-consuming and intimate as it develops, continuously readdressing decision-making in consciously playful ways.

A true celebration of process, in its endless repetition without ever repeating”.

Cristiana de Marchi, Finding Freedom in Repetition. Carolin Kropff and Hassan Sharif in the exhibition series „“

“I resorted to the idea of ‘redundant repetition’ in producing art. I would continuously engage myself in boring, recurring and endless activities, a feature that would become a signature of my artwork since

1982, its underlying purpose”. (Hassan Sharif)

Hassan Sharif’s quote, in Catherine David, “The art of weaving”, in Catherine David (ed.), Hassan Sharif. Works 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, pp. 12-17, 16

“My creative practice moves between the realms of art and craft. It reflects my research on the intersection of making and contemplation in relation to our life experiences. Image making and storytelling on the one hand and the exploration of processes, materials, traditional and improvisational methods of making are the focal points. Over time, the notion of familiarity, community and accessibility has become increasingly important. Therefore, in addition to my own artistic work, I open my studio to invite anyone interested to create”. (Carolin Kropff)

Hassan Sharif (born 1951, Bandar Lengeh, Iran - died 2016, Dubai, United Arab Emirates) lived and worked in Dubai. Recognized as a pioneer of conceptual art and experimental practice in the Middle East, his work is represented in major public collections, such as the Guggenheim New York, Guggenheim Abu Dhabi, Centre Pompidou, Mathaf Arab Museum of Modern Art, Tate Modern, and Sharjah Art Foundation.

Sharif developed semi-systems that were initially influenced by British Constructivism and in particular by Kenneth Martin's concept of "chance and order".

In the 1980s, he began with the simple joining of found and purchased industrial materials or mass products with ropes, threads and wires. The creation of these objects was based on simple manual labour, such as weaving, an activity that anyone*r could do and which required minimal effort. In his own words from 1980:

“Creating these works requires very simple handicraft that is at once repetitive and non-repetitive. I stay away from complicated technology and I have no secrets, so this is actually something that anyone can do. Hence I chose the tag ‘Weaving’ which requires neither strenuous physical activity nor unique skill. All that is required is a pair of hands and minimal effort."

 

Carolin Kropff (born 1966 in Altenbüren) studied at the Düsseldorf Kunstakademie and Städelschule Frankfurt where she graduated. From 1989-1991 she worked as an assistant costume designer and men's tailor at the Theater Dortmund. From 1999 - 2002 she maintained studios in Madrid, Spain and 2006 - 2011 in Dubai, UAE. In 2020 she founded STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31 in Frankfurt am Main. The project work is supported by the Kulturamt Frankfurt and the Fraureferat Frankfurt.

Her artistic work explores the relevance of cultural and communal inventions such as the archetype, myth, and traditional craft methods of making. Her interest lies in exploring the commonalities between image invention, creation and storytelling, and giving expression to their inherent possibility for communication, collaboration, and belonging to each other and to time. To this end, she increasingly makes use of folk art and participatory art forms.

She lives and works in Frankfurt am Main.

About the works: 

 

Hassan Sharif, Table and Chairs, 2012. Wood, papier mache, coir, and acrylic, 178 components, variable dimensions

Hassan Sharif created the work while using the wood from a table and chairs donated to him by Carolin Kropff on the verge of her departure from Dubai. Following his characteristic approach to objects acquired in bulk from local markets, Sharif dismantled the table and chairs to obtain single, “modular” components that he then incorporated with natural fibres and colourful paper maché. 

 

Hassan Sharif, Garden - C, 2001. Oil on canvas, 70 x 50cm 

“In 2000 Sharif decided to start painting again. The medium of oil on canvas had lost its appeal for him in 1981, but now became an appropriate means of expression at the turn of the millennium. 

At first, it was the plants at home that caught the artist’s attention. Just a few very colourful still-lives executed between 2000 and 2001 mark this phase. In the meantime, he continued making objects”.

Paulina Kolczyinska, “Hassan Sharif. A Rare Bloom in the Desert”, in Catherine David (ed.), Hassan Sharif.

Works 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, pp. 24-73, 61

Carolin Kropff, Rainbow Garden, 2020-2021. Canvas, thread, acrylic paint, ca.160 x 130 cm

Carolin Kropff ventures into experimentation by teaching herself the English paper-piecing technique, a strenuously process-based method for creating potentially endless works by juxtaposing modular elements. The wall piece consists of painted canvas, cut and sewn together again, while the paper needed for the paper piecing comes from a print of an older work of Kropff’s, belonging to her Paradise Lost series, that she started during her years in Dubai.

 

Carolin Kropff, Fata Morgana, 2007. Oil on hardboard, 20 x 60 cm (overall dimension)

“Fata Morgana is a term used in physics to describe a complex superordinate mirage, with alternation of compressed and stretched zones, and upright and inverted images. Kropff uses the Desert Gate - a group of large, now disappeared placeholder billboards for the various theme hotels of the Bawadi project in Dubai Land - as a stage to explore the phenomena of the manmade mirage”.

Larissa Kolesnikova: https://en.carolinkropff.net/desert-gates

 

Carolin Kropff, Anachroner, 2014. Archival pigment print on paper, 30 x 40 cm

The digital print belongs to the Paradise Lost working group. The paper background for Rainbow Garden was a large copy of Anachroner.

 

Images from left to right:

Installation view

Hassan Sharif - Table and Chairs 1, 2012

Carolin Kropff - Rainbow Garden, 2021

Installation views

Carolin Kropff - FataMorgana, 2007

Hassan Sharif - Garden C, 2001

Carolin Kropff - Anachroner, 2014

Previous “pairs” were:

Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila

Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn

Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn

Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn

Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi

Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn

Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Images: © Alexander Schütz

The exhibition was accompanied by a workshop talk the next day.

Frankfurt philosopher Angelica Horn will publish her text about the exhibition here shortly.

 

The exhibition is kindly supported by Kulturamt Frankfurt und Frauenreferat Frankfurt.

logo_support.jpg

„“  HASSAN SHARIF & CAROLIN KROPFF

Samstag, August 21 2021, 18 - 22 Uhr

 

In der Wiederholung die Freiheit finden.  
Carolin Kropff und Hassan Sharif in der Ausstellungsreihe „“ 

Cristiana de Marchi 

 

 

                                    How privileged you are, to be still passionately

                                    Clinging to what you love;

                                    The forfeit of hope has not destroyed you”.

 

 

 

Das Betreten und Verlassen vertrauter Räume scheint ein wiederkehrendes Thema zu sein, das die künstlerischen Ergebnisse sowohl von Sharif als auch von Kropff vereint, Homogenität dabei vermeidend.
Nach einer formalen akademischen Ausbildung im Vereinigten Königreich (1979-1984) gibt Sharif nach seiner Rückkehr nach Dubai Sharif die Malerei auf und konzentriert sich ganz auf die Schaffung seiner inzwischen ikonischen Objekte. Erst "um die Jahrtausendwende" herum und zunehmend ab 2006, nachdem er aus seinem alten Haus-Atelier in Dubais beliebtem Viertel Satwa vertrieben wurde und das letzte Kapitel seiner Karriere begann, das mit der Gründung von dem The Flying House zusammenfiel - einem kollektiven Raum, der als Vergrößerungsglas dient, um eine kleine, aber solide kristallisierte Gruppe von Konzeptkünstlern zu fördern, die in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten leben und arbeiten -, kehrt Hassan Sharif mit neuem Enthusiasmus und einem Hauch von Naivität zur Malerei zurück. 

Sharifs Garden - C aus dem Jahr 2001 wird hier mit einer der kleineren Arbeiten aus Carolin Kropffs Werkgruppe Desert Gate gepaart, die 2010 in einer Einzelausstellung in der XVA Gallery in Dubai präsentiert wurde.  
Die beiden Künstler betrachten die sie umgebende Umwelt aus radikal unterschiedlichen Perspektiven: Während in Garden - C die häusliche Sphäre im Vordergrund steht, in einem zurückgenommenen, verinnerlichten Blick, der selbst die unmittelbare urbane Landschaft ausklammert, ist Desert Gate, das als "komplexe Form einer übergeordneten Luftspiegelung" beschrieben wird, unbestreitbar von der natürlichen und konstruierten Umgebung, die die Künstlerin umgibt, sowie von ihrer früheren Bühnenerfahrung beeinflusst, in einer desillusionierten und doch selbstzufriedenen Anerkennung der theatralischen Erscheinung eines städtischen Panoramas, das ständig am Rande der Auswechslung steht.

 

Hassan Sharifs Table and Chairs gehört zu der berühmten Serie seiner Objects, die in erster Linie aus absichtslos angeordneten (in potenziell unendlichen Kombinationen) Stapeln von Massenprodukten bestehen, die der Künstler manipuliert, zerlegt und in verschiedenen handwerklichen Formen neu zusammensetzt.
Die meisten seiner Objekte zeichnen sich durch eine Abneigung gegen die Materialität und die Herkunft der verwendeten modularen Objekte aus, mit einer vorherrschenden Neigung zu preiswerten, populären Gegenständen, die in großen Mengen auf lokalen Märkten erworben werden können und für den Lebensstil der Unterschicht der Golfstaaten charakteristisch sind. Diese Materialien wurden ausgewählt, um das Ausmaß des Konsumverhaltens und des Massenkonsums in seinem Heimatland Dubai zu thematisieren, obwohl sie als Metapher für globalisierte Marktstrategien und erworbene Gewohnheiten dienen.

Mit dieser Arbeit erzählt Hassan Sharif jedoch eine andere Geschichte, denn das für die Arbeit verwendete Holz stammt von einem Tisch und Stühlen, die Sharif von Carolin Kropff kurz vor ihrer Abreise aus Dubai geschenkt wurden. Indem er die Überreste der nun nicht mehr erkennbaren Objekte zerlegt und mit seinen typischen Materialien (Naturfasern und buntes Pappmaché) verbindet, reflektiert Sharif auf bemerkenswert witzige Weise über Vertrauen und Enttäuschung, die Freiheiten der Freundschaft und das unendliche Potenzial der Schöpfung entgegen jeder gegebenen - oder angenommenen - Heiligkeit. 

 

Mit Rainbow Garden geht Carolin Kropff in ihrer Antwort auf Hassan Sharif einen ähnlichen - wenn auch gegenläufigen - Weg und vernachlässigt die von ihr in Perfektion beherrschte Bildtechnik und wagt das Experiment, indem sie sich selbst die englische Paper-Piecing-Technik beibringt, eine streng prozessorientierte Methode zur Schaffung potenziell endloser Werke durch die Aneinanderreihung modularer Elemente.
Die Wandarbeit besteht aus bemalter Leinwand, die zerschnitten und wieder zusammengenäht wird, wobei das für das Papier-Piecing benötigte Papier von einem Druck einer älteren Arbeit Kropffs stammt, die zu ihrer Serie Paradise Lost gehört, die sie während ihrer Jahre in Dubai begonnen hat. Carolin Kropff greift nicht nur Sharifs modularen Prozess auf, sondern auch einen anderen Aspekt, der ebenfalls zum Kern von Sharifs künstlerischem Ansatz gehört.

Mit einem spürbaren Gefühl der Befreiung von den Regeln und Zwängen der Malerei lässt sich Carolin Kropff auf eine "Sorglosigkeit" in Bezug auf die Technik ein und befasst sich mit der Idee der Progression als einer konstituierenden Komponente, um die kompositorischen Entscheidungen zu lenken, die ohne Vorbedacht getroffen werden. Obwohl das Ergebnis visuell nicht mit ihren gegenständlichen Gemälden vergleichbar ist, wird die Methode der Schichtung, die ihre Entstehung charakterisiert hat, beibehalten und prägt das Werk, da sie sich in eine physische Aktion und einen Prozess übersetzt, fast auf der Ebene der Handhabung, während sie sich mit einer ähnlichen Dringlichkeit des Tuns und mit einer ausgedehnten Beobachtung beschäftigt. 

 

An der Schnittstelle zwischen Improvisation und Beherrschung gewähren sich beide Künstler die Freiheit, sich der technischen Perfektion zu entziehen, um einen zeitaufwändigen und intimen Prozess zu entwickeln, in dem Entscheidungen auf bewusst spielerische Weise immer wieder neu getroffen werden.  Eine wahre Feier des Prozesses in seiner endlosen Wiederholung, ohne sich jemals zu wiederholen.

 

 

Louise Glück, “October”, in Averno, Carcanet Press, 2006

Paulina Kolczyinska, “Hassan Sharif. A Rare Bloom in the Desert”, in Catherine David (ed.), Hassan Sharif. Works 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, p. 61

Wikipedia

 

Am Samstag, den 21 August 2021, präsentierte der STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 Arbeiten der Künstler Hassan Sharif und Carolin Kropff. Die Kurzzeitausstellung zeigte eine Hommage von Carolin Kropff an ihren Freund und Mentor Hassan Sharif. Beide Künstler verbindet das Interesse an Hand-Arbeit, Wiederholung, Inklusivität und dem Weitergeben von Wissen.

 

Besonderer Dank gebührt Abdulraheem Sharif, ohne dessen Unterstützung die Ausstellung nicht möglich gewesen wäre!

“Positioned at the junction of improvisation and mastery, both artists grant themselves the freedom to evade technical perfection in favour of a process that is time-consuming and intimate as it develops, continuously readdressing decision-making in consciously playful ways.  A true celebration of process, in its endless repetition without ever repeating”.

"An der Schnittstelle zwischen Improvisation und Meisterschaft angesiedelt, gewähren sich die beiden Künstler die Freiheit, sich der technischen Perfektion zu entziehen zugunsten eines zeitaufwändigen und intimen Entwicklungsprozesses, der Entscheidungen auf bewusst spielerische Weise immer wieder neu trifft.
Eine wahre Feier des Prozesses in seiner endlosen Wiederholung, ohne sich jemals zu wiederholen.

Cristiana de Marchi: Finding Freedom in Repetition. Carolin Kropff and Hassan Sharif in the exhibition series „“

 

“I resorted to the idea of ‘redundant repetition’ in producing art. I would continuously engage myself in boring, recurring and endless activities, a feature that would become a signature of my artwork since 1982, its underlying purpose”. (Hassan Sharif)

"Ich griff auf die Idee der 'redundanten Wiederholung' zurück, um Kunst zu produzieren. Ich beschäftigte mich ständig mit langweiligen, sich wiederholenden und endlosen Aktivitäten, ein Merkmal, das seit 1982 zu einem Merkmal meiner Kunst wurde, zu ihrem eigentlichen Zweck". (Hassan Sharif)
Zitat von Hassan Sharif, in Catherine David, "Die Kunst des Webens", in Catherine David (Hrsg.), Hassan Sharif. Werke 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, S. 12-17, 16

"Meine kreative Praxis bewegt sich zwischen den Bereichen Kunst und Handwerk. Sie spiegelt meine Forschung über die Überschneidung von Herstellung und Kontemplation in Bezug auf unsere Lebenserfahrungen wider. Bildgestaltung und Geschichtenerzählen auf der einen Seite und die Erforschung von Prozessen, Materialien, traditionellen und improvisierten Herstellungsmethoden auf der anderen Seite stehen im Mittelpunkt. Im Laufe der Zeit hat der Aspekt der Vertrautheit, der Gemeinschaft und der Zugänglichkeit immer mehr an Bedeutung gewonnen. Deshalb öffne ich mein Atelier, um alle Interessierten zum Mit-Machen einzuladen". (Carolin Kropff)

 

Hassan Sharif (geb. 1951- gest. 2016, Dubai, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate) lebte und arbeitete in Dubai. Er gilt als Pionier der Konzeptkunst und experimentellen Praxis im Nahen Osten. Seine Werke sind in vielen internationalen Museen und Sammlungen vertreten, u.a. im Guggenheim New York und Abu Dhabi, Centre Pompidou, Tate Modern, dem Mathaf Arab Museum of Modern Art und der Sharjah Art Foundation.

Sharif entwickelte Semi-Systeme, die ursprünglich vom britischen Konstruktivismus und insbesondere von Kenneth Martins Begriff von "Chance and Order" geprägt waren.

In den 1980er Jahren begann er mit dem einfachen Verbinden von gefundenen oder gekauften Industriematerialien oder Massenprodukten mit Seilen, Bindfäden und Drähten. Das Schaffen dieser Objekte war auf einfacher Handarbeit gegründet, wie dem Weben, eine Tätigkeit, die jede*r machen kann und minimalen Aufwand beansprucht. In seinen eigenen Worten aus 1980:
“Creating these works requires very simple handicraft that is at once repetitive and non-repetitive. I stay away from complicated technology and I have no secrets, so this is actually something that anyone can do. Hence I chose the tag ‘Weaving’ which requires neither strenuous physical activity nor unique skill. All that is required is a pair of hands and minimal effort."

„ Die Schaffung dieser Werke erfordert sehr einfaches Handwerk, das gleichzeitig repetitiv und nicht repetitiv ist. Ich halte mich von komplizierter Technik fern und habe keine Geheimnisse, daher ist dies eigentlich etwas, das jeder tun kann. Daher habe ich den Tag 'Weben' gewählt, das weder anstrengende körperliche Aktivität noch einzigartige Fähigkeiten beansprucht. Alles, was benötigt wird, ist ein Paar Hände und ein minimaler Aufwand. “

Seit den späten 1970er Jahren arbeitete er auch als Kulturvermittler und bewegte sich zwischen den Rollen des Künstlers, Pädagogen, Kritikers, Aktivisten und Mentors für zeitgenössische Künstler*innen in den V.A.E.

Carolin Kropff (geboren 1966 im Sauerland) hat an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (1991-1995) studiert und der Städelschule Frankfurt (1996 -1998) ihr Studium abgeschlossen. Von 1989-1991 arbeitete sie als Kostümbildassistentin und Herrenschneiderin am Theater Dortmund. Von 1999 - 2002 unterhielt sie Ateliers in Madrid, Spanien und 2006 - 2011 in Dubai, VAE. 2020 hat sie den STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 in Frankfurt am Main gegründet. Die Projektarbeit wird vom Kulturamt Frankfurt und dem Frauenreferat Frankfurt unterstützt.

In ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit untersucht sie die Relevanz kultureller und gemeinschaftlicher Erfindungen wie Archetypen, Mythen und traditionelle handwerkliche Herstellungsmethoden. Ihr Interesse liegt darin, die Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen der Erfindung und Schaffung von Bildern und dem Erzählen von Geschichten zu erforschen und den ihnen innewohnenden Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation, Zusammenarbeit und Zugehörigkeit zueinander und zur Zeit Ausdruck zu verleihen. Zu diesem Zweck bedient sie sich zunehmend der Volkskunst und partizipativer Kunstformen.

Sie lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main.

Über die Arbeiten:

 

Hassan Sharif, Tisch und Stühle, 2012. Holz, Pappmaché, Kokosfasern und Acryl, 178 Teile, variable Maße
Hassan Sharif schuf das Werk unter Verwendung des Holzes eines Tisches und von Stühlen, die ihm Carolin Kropff kurz vor ihrer Abreise aus Dubai geschenkt hatte. Gemäß seiner charakteristischen Herangehensweise an Objekte, die er in großen Mengen auf lokalen Märkten erwarb, zerlegte Sharif den Tisch und die Stühle, um einzelne, "modulare" Komponenten zu erhalten, die er dann mit Naturfasern und buntem Pappmaché verarbeitete.

Hassan Sharif, Garten - C, 2001. Öl auf Leinwand, 70 x 50 cm

“In 2000 Sharif decided to start painting again. The medium of oil on canvas had lost its appeal for him in 1981, but now became an appropriate means of expression at the turn of the millennium.
At first it was the plants at home that caught the artist’s attention. Just a few very colourful stilllifes executed between 2000 and 2001 mark this phase. In the meantime, he continued making objects”.

"Im Jahr 2000 beschloss Sharif, wieder mit der Malerei zu beginnen. Das Medium Öl auf Leinwand hatte 1981 für ihn seinen Reiz verloren, wurde nun aber zur Jahrtausendwende zu einem geeigneten Ausdrucksmittel.Zunächst waren es die Pflanzen zu Hause, die die Aufmerksamkeit des Künstlers erregten. Nur einige wenige, sehr farbenfrohe Stillleben, die zwischen 2000 und 2001 entstanden, markieren diese Phase. In der Zwischenzeit fertigte er weiterhin Objekte an".
Paulina Kolczyinska, "Hassan Sharif. A Rare Bloom in the Desert", in Catherine David (Hrsg.), Hassan Sharif.
Werke 1973-2011, Hatje Kantz, 2011, S. 24-73, 61


Carolin Kropff, Rainbow Garden, 2020-2021. Leinwand, Faden, Acrylfarbe, ca.160 x 130 cm
Carolin Kropff wagt das Experiment, indem sie sich selbst die englische Paper-Piecing-Technik beibringt, eine streng prozessorientierte Methode, um durch das Nebeneinanderstellen modularer Elemente potenziell endlose Werke zu schaffen. Die Wandarbeit besteht aus bemalter Leinwand, die zerschnitten und wieder zusammengenäht wurde, während das für das Paper-Piecing benötigte Papier von einem Druck einer älteren Arbeit Kropffs stammt, die zu ihrer Serie Paradise Lost gehört, die sie während ihrer Jahre in Dubai begonnen hat.

Carolin Kropff, Fata Morgana, 2007. Öl auf Hartfaserplatte, 20 x 60 cm (Gesamtmaß)
"Fata Morgana ist ein Begriff aus der Physik, der eine komplexe übergeordnete Fata Morgana beschreibt, bei der sich gestauchte und gedehnte Zonen sowie aufrechte und umgekehrte Bilder abwechseln. Kropff nutzt das Desert Gate - eine Gruppe großer, inzwischen verschwundener Plakatwände für die verschiedenen Themenhotels des Bawadi-Projekts in Dubai Land - als Bühne, um die Phänomene der von Menschen gemachten Fata Morgana zu erforschen".
Larissa Kolesnikova: https://en.carolinkropff.net/desert-gates
 

Bilder von rechts nach links:

Installation view

Hassan Sharif - Table and Chairs 1, 2012

Carolin Kropff - Rainbow Garden, 2021

Installation views

Carolin Kropff - FataMorgana, 2007

Hassan Sharif - Garden C, 2001

Carolin Kropff - Anachroner, 2014

Vorherige 'Paare" waren:

Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila

Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn

Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn

Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn

Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi

Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn

Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Bilder: © Alexander Schütz

Die Ausstellung wurde begleitet von dem Werkstattgespräch MACHEN - Nicloleta Danila & Carolin Kropff am nächsten Tag.

Die Frankfurter Philosophin Angelica Horn wird hier ihren Text über die Ausstellung in Kürze veröffentlichen.

 

Die Ausstellung wird freundlicherweise vom Kulturamt Frankfurt und dem Frauenreferat Frankfurt unterstützt.

logo_support.jpg