jourunfixe_karte-alchemie.jpg

jourUNfixe The Alchemy of Paint

with Carolin Kropff


This workshop talk is about the alchemy of paint and Spike Buklow's book and how to use pigments and binders. 

The inside Spike Buklow shares in his book The Alchemy of Paint can enliven our relationship to colour. By taking a closer look at pigments, binding agents and painting materials, by holding them in our hands and exploring their interactions, oil, colour can be experienced directly.

Oktober 19th, 5-7pm

4 spots - Registration is required.

Understanding the function of color in painting and how it interacts is one of the most important skills painters want to master. Preparing a canvas and mixing colors is an integral part of daily work in the studio, work in which craftsmanship transforms raw materials into useful tools. The magic begins with preparing the canvas, mixing dyes and pigments, and applying the first layers of paint. Working with pigment, binder, and the multi-layered oil painting technique is one such method of navigating the alchemy of color.

Courtesy of Miraima Schmitt

FunFundamentals of Painting

The origin of these craft traditions is part of the now lost ‘wisdom of the ancients’, the wisdom of Shakespeare’s Duke who, exiled in the Forest of Arden,
‘Finds tongues in trees, books in running books,
Sermons in stoned, and good in everything'.

 

As Spike Bucklow beautifully describes in his book The Alchemy of Paint, ART Science and Secrets from the Middle Ages pigments provide access to the deepest levels of meaning as understood by the old masters and by women painters who continue to feel connected to the masterpieces of painting history to this day. The artist's studio, then, is like an alchemist's laboratory, and in the process the materials are transformed into images as they are painted. Colours had a clear meaning in the medieval times. This meaning reflected the medieval worldview of microcosm and macrocosm. Today, our worldview also reflects our relationship to color.

Spike Bucklow shows us how in medieval times, color had mystical significance far beyond the enjoyment of shade and hue. (Kremer Pigmente)

He writes:

The color has been appropriated. Today, a telecommunications company has appropriated the color orange, and the combination of red and white is associated with a fizzy drink. But neither does orange have anything to do with telecommunications, nor do soft drinks inherently have anything to do with red and white.

The medieval idea of man

Man contains within himself as many species as exist on earth.

Jakob Böhme


Soul plus body plus spirit: Body and soul is an individual characteristic, but the spirit is universal. Each individual is a micro-cosmos. Thus heaven is reflected on earth and both reflected in man, who lives thus in the center of the universe on an earth consisting of four elements, which is orbited by seven planets. As a composite of body, soul and spirit, the individual is an integral part of the whole of creation. In this world view, material has a spiritual level.

The workshop talk is kindly supported by Kulturamt Frankfurt.

logo_support_edited_edited.jpg

top of page

jourUNfixe Die Alchemie der Farbe

mit Carolin Kropff

19.10. 2022 - 17 - 19 Uhr

 

Dieses Werkstattgespräch widmete sich der Farben in der Malerei, der Alchemy of Paint von Spike Buklow und wie wir mit Pigmenten und Bindemitteln umgehen können.

Die Hintergründe, die Spike Buklow in seinem Buch The Alchemy of Paint überzeugend zusammenfasst, können unseren Blick und Umgang mit Farbe beleben. Indem wir Pigmente, Bindemittel und Malmittel näher betrachten, sie in die Hand nehmen und ihre Wechselwirkungen erforschen, wird Farbe unmittelbar erfahrbar.

​​

Die Funktion der Farbe in der Malerei und ihr Zusammenspiel zu verstehen, ist eine der wichtigsten Fähigkeiten, die Maler:innen beherrschen möchten. Das Vorbereiten einer Leinwand und das Mischen von Farben ist ein integraler Bestandteil der täglichen Arbeit im Atelier, eine Arbeit, in der handwerkliches Können Rohstoffe in nützliche Werkzeuge verwandelt. Der Zauber beginnt mit der Vorbereitung der Leinwand, dem Mischen von Farbstoffen und Pigmenten, und dem Anlegen der ersten Farbschichten. Das Arbeiten mit dem Pigment, dem Bindemittel und der mehrschichtige Aufbau von Farbschichten ist eine solcher Methoden des Navigieren durch die Alchemie der Farbe.

Courtesy of Marina Schmitt

GrunGrundlagen der mehrschichtigen Malerei

Der Ursprung dieser Handwerkstraditionen ist Teil der heute verlorenen "Weisheit der Alten", der Weisheit von Shakespeares Herzog, der im Wald von Arden im Exil lebt,
'Findet Zungen in Bäumen, Bücher in laufenden Büchern,
Predigten in Steinen, und das Gute in allem.'


Wie Spike Bucklow in seinem Buch The Alchemy of Paint, ART Science and Secrets from the Middle Ages wunderbar beschreibt, bieten Pigmente Zugang zu den tiefsten Bedeutungsebenen, wie sie von den alten Meistern und von Malerinnen, die sich auch heute mit den Meisterwerken der Malereigeschichte verbunden fühlen, verstanden werden. Das Atelier des Künstlers, der Künstlerinnen ist dann das Labor eines Alchemisten. Im Prozess werden die Materialien beim Malen in Bilder verwandelt.

In der modernen Zeit haben wir die Farbe von ihren Ursprüngen abgekoppelt und nutzen sie zu kommerziellen Zwecken. Spike Bucklow zeigt uns, dass Farbe im Mittelalter eine mystische Bedeutung hatte, die weit über den Genuss von Schattierungen und Farbtönen hinausging. (Kremer Pigmente)

Spike Bucklow schreibt:

Die Farbe ist vereinnahmt worden. Heute hat sich ein Telekommunikationsunternehmen die Farbe Orange angeeignet, und die Kombination aus Rot und Weiß wird mit einem kühlen Getränk in Verbindung gebracht. Aber weder hat Orange etwas mit Telekommunikation zu tun, noch haben Softdrinks von Natur aus etwas mit Rot und Weiß zu tun

Die Mittelalterliche Idee von Mensch

Der Mensch enthält so viele Arten in sich, wie es auf der Erde gibt.

Jakob Böhme

Körper, Seele und Geist sind untrennbar. Körper und Geist sind individuelle Merkmale, aber der Geist ist universell. Jedes Individuum ist ein Mikrokosmos, der Mensch ist verbunden mit der Erde, die Erde mit dem Himmel. So wird der Himmel auf der Erde widergespiegelt und beide werden im Menschen widergespiegelt. Die Erde besteht aus vier Elementen, die von sieben Planeten umkreist wird. In dieser Weltansicht hat Material eine spirituelle Ebene. Als Verbindung von Körper, Seele und Geist ist der Mensch ein integraler Bestandteil der gesamten Schöpfung.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom Kulturamt Frankfurt.

logo_support_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page