jourunfixe2_karte.jpg

jourUNfixe 2

Rosie Lee Tompkins und Half Square Triangles

 

A workshop talk with Britta Kadolsky and Carolin Kropff.

 

The workshop talk is dedicated to the wonderful quilts of Rosie Lee Tompkins, her role in art from our point of view, quiltmaking and how Half Square Trinangles are made.

We cordially invite you to our second jourUNfixe on

19. 12. 2021 / 1-3pm.

There are fascinating combinations of ways to make a quilt, and there is an inherent connection of quilts to people, ways of making, time, and stories. My investigation into material-based ways of creating colourful surfaces by sewing and cutting textiles came across the work of Rosie Lee Tompkins.


The workshop referenced the exhibition: Rosie Lee Tompkins: A Retrospective of BAMPFA the UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA).

Her wonderful quilts are well displayed on the website and are not uploaded here for copyright reasons.

There are fascinating combinations of ways to create a quilt, and there is an inherent connection of quilts to people, ways of making, time, and stories.
My investigation into a more material-based way to create colored surfaces by painting (or dyeing, printing, sewing) and cutting textiles (such as canvases or those already worn by someone) came across the work of Rosie Lee Tompkins.

The workshop talk takes the exhibition: Rosie Lee Tompkins: A Retrospective by BAMPFA, the UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA) as reference.

We'll talk about her wonderful quilts and invent a colourful block ourselves using a variety of fabrics - used and new - and following traditional block patterns like the Half Square Triangle, the quirky Yoyos, and embroidery. 


Rosie Lee Tompkins was synonymous with Effie Mae Howard (1936-2006. In the 80s of the 20th century, quilt collector and psychologist Eli Leon (1935-2018) discovered her quilts at a flea market in North Oakland and supported her from then on.
Rosie Lee Tompkins is widely regarded today as one of the most masterful and inventive quiltmakers of her time. Meanwhile, her work is no longer viewed only in the context of quilting but is established as art.
She constructed her patchwork pieces, which she did not quilt herself, from new and used fabrics ranging from velvet, felt, denim, and faux fur to glitter and polyester fabrics. In addition to the variety of different fabric qualities, the patterns also consist of a variety of seemingly improvised blocks, such as the Half Square Triangle, the Medallions and Log Cabin, in addition to appliqué, yoyos and embroidery, all freely and seemingly effortlessly connected. The colour contrast is vivid. Embroidered are numbers and biblical texts. She also picks up on contemporary events that were often connected to the lives of the African American population of the United States.
Effie Mea Howard was not interested in publicity, which explains her choice of a pen name. She was very religious and believed strongly that God guided her hand in her work.

jourUNfixe 2 allowed conversations about quilting as an artistic and social practice. Rosie Lee Tompkins' quilts served as examples for reflection. The combination of discussion and workshop with the material act of making, the physical, tactile recreation, opened up a shared exchange about material and immaterial conditions.
Together we discussed her history and her work. In the process of making, we gained a deeper understanding of the material qualities of the used fabrics, the patchwork construction such as the Half Square Triangle and the Medallion, and the improvisations and rule-breaking coupled with the social and spiritual references that are typical of Tompkin's work.
I would like to relate Tomkins's quilting to the concept of "silent activism": quiet and effective activism embedded in everyday life. According to an article I found on the Stitching Together Research website, the term refers to creative making that is largely dismissed and overlooked as domestic and amateurish. Often co-produced and reflective, the "making interventions" of amateur craft, which denotes a form of creativity, operates on the cultural margins but is at the centre of everyday life experience. In my eyes, this is a perfect description of her quilts and many others by many other makers.
JourUNfixe 2 was not the last workshop talk to explore participatory art-based methods of collaborative making. It takes the relationship between craft and material impact as an opportunity to learn more about ourselves and others, to ask questions, find common ground, and reflect on the world we live in. We can make to secure a place in this world and leave our own fingerprint.

https://www.ingentaconnect.com/contentone/intellect/jaac/2020/00000010/f0020001/art00004;jsessionid=27thgo119wkw4.x-ic-live-03

Stitching Together-Research is a research network that brings together researchers, professional textile artisans, project commissioners and textile enthusiasts to promote critical dialogue about participatory textile work - making textiles with others - in research and practice. (Dr. Emma Shercliff (Arts University Bournemouth) and Dr. Amy Twigger Holroyd (Nottingham Trent University).

jourUNfixe was supported by Hessische Kulturstifung

machen_3_karte_edited.jpg

jourunfixe2_karte.jpg

jourUNfixe 2

Rosie Lee Tompkins und Half Square Triangles

 

Ein Werkstattgespräch mit Britta Kadolsky  und Carolin Kropff.

 

Das Werkstattgespräch widmete sich den wunderbaren Quilts von Rosie Lee Tompkins, ihre Rolle in der Kunst aus unserer Sicht, Quiltmaking und wie Half Square Trinangles gemacht werden.

jourUNfixe am 19. 12. 2021 / 13 - 15 Uhr.

Es gibt faszinierende Kombinationen von Möglichkeiten, einen Quilt zu machen, und es gibt eine inhärente Verbindung  von Quilts zu Menschen, Weisen der Herstellung, Zeit und Geschichten. Meine Untersuchung über die materialbasierten Art und Weise, farbige Oberflächen durch Nähen und Schneiden von Textilien zu gestalten, stieß mich auf die Arbeit von Rosie Lee Tompkins.

Das Werkstattgespräch nahm die Ausstellung: Rosie Lee Tompkins: A Retrospektive des BAMPFA dem UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA) als Referenz. Ihre wunderbaren Quilts sind  auf der Webseite gut zu sehen und sind hier aus Copyright-Gründen nicht hochgeladen.

Rosie Lee Tompkins war ein Synonym von Effie Mae Howard (1936-2006. In den 80 Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts entdeckte der Quiltsammler und Psychologe Eli Leon (1935-2018) ihre Quilts auf einem Flohmarkt in North Oakland und unterstützte sie fortan.

Rosie Lee Tompkins gilt heute weithin als eine der virtuosesten und erfindungsreichsten Quiltmacherinnen ihrer Zeit. Mittlerweile wird ihr Werk nicht mehr nur im Kontext des Quiltens betrachtet, sondern ist als Kunst etabliert.

Ihre Patchworkarbeiten, die sie nicht selbst gequiltet hat, konstruierte sie aus neuen und gebrauchten Stoffen, die von Samt, Filz, Jeans, Kunstpelz bis hin zu Glitzer- und Polyesterstoffen reichen. Neben der Vielfalt der unterschiedlichen Stoffqualitäten bestehen die Muster auch aus einer Vielzahl von scheinbar improvisierten Blöcken, wie dem Half Square Triangle, dem Medaillon und Log Cabin, dazu kommen Applikationen, Yoyos und Stickereien, die alle frei und scheinbar mühelos miteinander verbunden sind. Der Farbkontrast ist lebhaft. Gestickt werden Zahlen und Bibeltexte. Auch greift sie zeitgenössische Ereignisse auf, die oft mit dem Leben der afroamerikanischen Bevölkerung der USA verbunden sind.

Effie Mea Howard war nicht an Öffentlichkeit interessiert, was die Wahl eines Künstlernamens erklärt. Sie war sehr religiös und glaubte unbedingt, dass Gott ihre Hand bei ihrer Arbeit leitet. Sie lernte das Quilten von ihrer Mutter.

Sie war Krankenschwester und Mutter von 5 Kindern, inklusive ihrer Steppkinder.

JourUNfixe 2 bot Raum für Gespräche über das Quilten als künstlerische und soziale Praxis. Die Quilts von Rosie Lee Tompkins dienten als Anlass für die Reflexion.

Das Werkstattgespräch mit dem materiellen Akt der Herstellung, der physischen, taktilen Nachgestaltung, eröffnete einen gemeinsamen Austausch über materielle und immaterielle Bedingungen. Gemeinsam besprachen wir ihre Geschichte und ihre Arbeit. Im Nachvollzug erlangten wir zu einem tieferen Verständnis über die materiellen Vorgaben, wie der Qualität der Stoffe, die oft gebraucht waren, der Patchwork-Konstruktion wie dem Half Square Triangle und dem Medaillon, und von Improvisationen und Regelbrechungen gepaart mit den sozialen und spirituellen Bezügen, die typisch sind für Tompkins Arbeit.

 

Ich möchte Tompkins' Quilten mit dem Konzept des "stillen Aktivismus" in Verbindung bringen: ein stiller und effektiver Aktivismus, der in das tägliche Leben eingebettet ist. Einem Artikel zufolge, den ich auf der Stitching Together Research Website gefunden habe, bezieht sich der Begriff auf kreatives Schaffen, das weitgehend als häuslich und amateurhaft abgetan und übersehen wird. Die oft in Co-Produktion und Reflexion entstandenen "Interventionen" des Amateurhandwerks, die eine Form der Kreativität bezeichnen, finden am kulturellen Rand statt, stehen aber im Zentrum der Alltagserfahrung. In meinen Augen ist dies eine perfekte Beschreibung ihrer und vieler anderer Quilts von vielen anderen Macher:innen.

 

JourUNfixe 2 war nicht das letzte Werkstattgespräch, das partizipative kunstbasierte Methoden des gemeinschaftlichen Machens erproben möchte. Es nimmt die Beziehung zwischen Kunst, Kunsthandwerk, das gemeinsame Machen und materieller Wirkung zum Anlass, um mehr über uns und andere zu erfahren, um Fragen zu stellen, Gemeinsamkeiten zu finden und die Welt, in der wir leben, zu reflektieren. Wir können uns machend einen Ort in dieser Welt sichern und einen eigenen Fingerabdruck hinterlassen.

 

https://www.ingentaconnect.com/contentone/intellect/jaac/2020/00000010/f0020001/art00004;jsessionid=27thgo119wkw4.x-ic-live-03

Stitching Together-Research ist ein Forschungsnetzwerk, das Forscher, professionelle Textilhandwerker, Projektauftraggeber und Textilenthusiasten zusammen, um den kritischen Dialog über die partizipative Textilarbeit - die Herstellung von Textilien mit anderen - in Forschung und Praxis zu fördern. (Dr. Emma Shercliff (Arts University Bournemouth) und Dr. Amy Twigger Holroyd (Nottingham Trent University).

jourUNfixe wurde von der Hessischen Kulturstiftung unterstützt!

machen_3_karte_edited.jpg