Mapping Identities

Mapping Identities -  Cristiana de Marchi

 

Email note:

Concerning the workshop, I would like to develop the idea of the identity portrait into an identity mapping of frankfurt: ideally, people from different origin living in Frankfurt could attend the workshop where we would be cutting (in paper, forex... any light material) the shape of their countries and then build them up in a composition. 

This would be a development of my "sustainability" sculptures (on my website under the geographies section) where I reflect on relational issues among existing geographic entities. For this project, I am interested in pushing it further and explore the terrain of actual social composition vs idealized/puristic projection and question the very idea of what does it mean to be a citizen of Frankfurt (as a metaphor and first experience, as I would love to expand this experience to many different communities).

Cristiana de Marchi is an Italian / Lebanese visual artist and author who lives and works in Beirut and Dubai. She received her MFA with honors in Archaeology from the University of Turin, after completing her Bachelor with Honours in Humanities at the same university.

Cristiana de Marchi's working method explores the social and political terrain of memory, of past and present places, of identity and disputed borders, and of utensils of contemporary nationality. Using textiles, embroidery, films, and performances, she initiates processes that draw attention to the currencies of power by exploring these very structures. By extracting signs and symbols, she questions the conditions of the systems that constitute them. She reveals the power structures contained in flags and their colours, passports, places, statistics, sociological models, words and letters. By focusing on often overlooked details, she points out how the seemingly harmless actions and details of everyday life are the essences of larger structuring systems.

Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 12.01.01.png

Mapping Identities

Mapping Identities -  mit Cristiana de Marchi

 

Was den Workshop betrifft, möchte ich die Idee des Identitätsporträts zu einem Identitätsmapping von Frankfurt entwickeln: Idealerweise könnten Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft, die in Frankfurt leben, an dem Workshop teilnehmen, bei dem wir (Papier, Forex... jegliches leichtes Material) die Form ihrer Länder ausschneiden und die Formen dann in einer Komposition aufbauen würden.

Dies wäre eine Weiterentwicklung meiner "Nachhaltigkeits"-Skulpturen (auf meiner Webseite unter der Rubrik Geographien), in denen ich über die Beziehungen zwischen bestehenden geographischen Einheiten nachdenke. Für dieses Projekt bin ich daran interessiert, es weiter voranzutreiben und das Terrain der tatsächlichen sozialen Zusammensetzung gegenüber der idealisierten/puristischen Projektion zu erforschen und die eigentliche Idee, was es bedeutet, ein Bürger Frankfurts zu sein, in Frage zu stellen (als Metapher und erste Erfahrung, da ich diese Erfahrung gerne auf viele verschiedene Gemeinschaften ausdehnen würde).

 

Cristiana de Marchi ist eine italienisch / libanesisch bildende Künstlerin und Autorin, die in Beirut und Dubai lebt und arbeitet. Sie erhielt ihren MFA mit Auszeichnung in Archäologie an der Universität Turin, nachdem sie ebenda mit Bachelor with Honours in Geisteswissenschaften abgeschlossen hatte.

Cristiana de Marchis Arbeitsweise erforscht das soziale und politische Terrain von Erinnerung, von Orten der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, von Identität und umstrittenen Grenzen bis zu Utensilien der zeitgenössischen Nationalität. Mit Textilien, Stickereien, Filmen und Aufführungen stößt  sie Prozesse an, die auf die Währungen der Macht aufmerksam machen, indem sie eben diese Strukturen erforschen. Durch das Extrahieren der Zeichen und Symbole, hinterfragt sie die Bedingungen der Systeme, die sie konstituieren. Sie legt die Machtstrukturen offen, die in Flaggen und ihren Farben, Pässen, Orten, Statistiken, soziologischen Modellen, Worten und Briefen steckt. Mit dem Fokus auf oft übersehene Details wird darauf hingewiesen, wie die scheinbar harmlosen Aktionen und Details des Alltags das Wesen größerer Strukturierungssysteme sind.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom

Atelier: STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31

Email: info@studiospacelangestrasse31.net

Adresse: Lange Straße 31,

60311 Frankfurt

 

https://www.carolinkropff.net/

© 2020 Studio Space Lange Strasse 31. Proudly created with Wix.com