„“  - Mohammed Kazem & Ekrem Yalcindag

 

On Saturday the 25th of September 2021, STUDIOSPACE Lange Strasse 31 will presented works by artists

Mohammed Kazem and Ekrem Yalcindag.

 Texts written by Cristiana de Marchi and Angelica Horn are in process.

“Repetition and variation are at the core of both Kazem’s and Yalcindag’s practice, just like their first approach to painting through the aestatic exploration of the Impressionism French masters. The negotiation of an undeniable although often minimised Eastern cultural background – Yalcindag was born in Turkey and move to Germany at the age of 30, while Kazem was born and still lives in Dubai, UAE – and an elective inclination towards the artistic western canon invite to a reflection on strategies of self-positioning within the larger world, and highlight the relevance of community-based engagement in the process of formation of an artistic persona”

Cristiana de Marchi, “Pictures for the blind”. Ekrem Yalcindag and Mohammed Kazem in the exhibition series „“

 

“I deal with ephemeral elements, such as the imperceptible movements of apparently fixed objects and situations, and the passing of time. Everything constantly moves as time is passing: you cannot capture time, yet you are existing in it. We cannot visually perceive this universal movement; our very existence is in motion. […] most of my projects represent movement without visualising it ”. (Mohammed Kazem)

Cristiana de Marchi, “Mohammed Kazem”, in Eungie Joo, Ryan Inouye (eds.), The Past, the present, the possible. Sharjah Biennial 12, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2015, pp. 252-259, 252

 

“The works of Ekrem Yalcindag are subtle: they touch on contexts, but also let them be. Geometry, abstraction and concretion emerge in his works like discreet genetic traces of a fusion of different formal aesthetic worlds. However, just when we think we have discovered them, they already disappear again”. (Dorothea Strauss)

Dorothea Strauss, “Foreword”, in Dorothea Strauss, Christoph Doswald (eds.), Ekrem Yalcindag, Kehrer, 2013, pp. 3-7, p. 6

An essay by Dubai-based artist and writer Cristiana de Marchi and the Frankfurt based philosopher Angelica Horn has been commissioned and will be released on the digital platform of Studio Space Lange Strasse 31 after the event.

 

About the artists:

 

Mohammed Kazem (born 1969, Dubai) lives and works in Dubai. He has developed an artistic practice that encompasses video, photography and performance to and new ways of apprehending his environment and experiences. The foundations of his work are informed by his training as a musician, and Kazem is deeply engaged with developing processes that can render transient phenomena, such as sound and light, in tangible terms. Often positioning himself within his work, Kazem responds to geographical location, materiality and the elements as a means to assert his subjectivity, particularly in relation to the rapid pace of modernisation in the Emirates since the country's founding.

Kazem was a member of the Emirates Fine Arts Society early in his career and is acknowledged as one of the 'Five', an informal group of Emirati artists - including Hassan Sharif, Hussein Sharif, Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim and Abdullah Al Saadi - at the vanguard of conceptual and interdisciplinary art practice. In 2012, Kazem completed his Masters in Fine Art at the University of the Arts, Philadelphia. He has been participating in the Annual Exhibitions of the Emirates Fine Arts Society in Sharjah since 1986, as well as numerous editions of Sharjah Biennial, receiving first prize for installations in 1999 and 2003, and in 2007, he curated the Sharjah Biennial. In recent years, Kazem has participated in several group shows at the Mori Art Museum (2012), Boghossian Foundation (2013), Gwangju Museum of Art (2014) and the 2014 edition of the Fotofest Biennial in Houston (2014). He has exhibited at the Venice Biennale three times: in 2009 as part of a group exhibition curated by Catherine David, in 2013 he represented the UAE with an immersive video installation entitled Walking on Water, which was curated by Reem Fadda, and in 2015 he showcased works from the Tongue series at 1980 - Today: Exhibitions in the UAE, curated by Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimi. His works are held in the collections of the British Museum, Guggenheim Abu Dhabi and New York, Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Ullens Centre for Contemporary Art, Sharjah Art Foundation, Barjeel Art Foundation, and Vehbi Koç Foundation, among others. 

 

 

Ekrem Yalcındag was born in Adıyaman in 1964. He graduated from the Faculty of Fine Arts at Izmir Dokuz Eylül University in 1989. He completed his master’s degree at his alma mater in 1993. Between 1994 and 1999, he studied with Prof. Hermann Nitsch at Stadelschule Frankfurt.

Using geometric and floral patterns so as to praise handcraftsmanship, he maintains connection between art and design by adapting the traditional techniques of painting. While patterns create a visual delusion by repetition and interaction with each other, they signify timelessness (past-present-future) in the cultural context. 

Yalçındağ received fellowships and attended guest artist program in Schloss Balmoral in 2001, and Villa Waldberta in Munich in 2003. He has extensively exhibited in solo and shows in Turkey and in Europe.

His works can be seen in many public and private collections such as Allianz collection in Munich, Borusan in Istanbul, EPO in Lahey, Goetz Collection in Munich, Istanbul Modern Art Museum in Istanbul, Kunstmuseum in Stuttgart and Rückversicherung in Munich.

Currently Yalçındağ lives and works in Istanbul and Berlin.

About the works:

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. L1 - Fluorescent Yellow, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 2021

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. L2 - Fluorescent Yellow, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 2021

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. K1 - Rosa, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. K2 - Rosa, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. J1 -  Blue, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf zerkratztem Papier, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. J2 -  Blue, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf zerkratztem Papier, 2021.

The works presented here belong to Kazem’s now iconic series of scratches, which he started in 1990 and declined ever since in a multiplicity of formats and even media.

“In 1990, the newly produced series called Scratches somewhat echoed his impasto paintings. In this, he used paper, occasionally scattered paint, and scissors to rhythmically punctuate the surface of the paper in an organic pattern, usually in a single color. The saturation of the pigment varied, depending on the punctures that had been made on the paper” (Paulina Kolczynska).

Ekrem Yacindag, Colored Black, diameter 150 cm, acrylic on canvas on wooden construction.
The work presented here displays an astonishing color restraint for Yalcindag without sacrificing subtle color interactions.

 

Previous “pairs” were:

Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila

Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn

Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn

Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn

Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi

Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn

Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Angelica Horn

Hassan Sharif & Carolin Kropff. Text Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn

 

Coming next:

Cristiana de Marchi & Günter Zehetner. Text: Angelica Horn.

The exhibition is kindly supported by Kulturamt Frankfurt.

logo_support_edited.png

„“  - Mohammed Kazem & Ekrem Yalcindag

 

Am Samstag, den 25. September 2021, präsentierte der STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 Werke der Künstler Mohammed Kazem und Ekrem Yalcindag.

Texte von Cristiana de Marchi und Angelica Horn sind in Vorbereitung.

"Wiederholung und Variation stehen im Mittelpunkt von Kazems und Yalcindags Praxis, genau wie ihr erster Zugang zur Malerei durch die ästhetische Beschäftigung mit den französischen Meistern des Impressionismus. Die Auseinandersetzung mit einem unbestreitbaren, wenn auch oft heruntergespielten östlichen kulturellen Hintergrund - Yalcindag wurde in der Türkei geboren und zog im Alter von 30 Jahren nach Deutschland, während Kazem in Dubai geboren wurde und immer noch in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten lebt - und einer gewählten Hinwendung zum westlichen Kunstkanon, laden zu einer Reflexion über Strategien der Selbstpositionierung innerhalb der größeren Welt ein und unterstreichen die Relevanz eines gemeinschaftsbasierten Engagements im Prozess der Herausbildung einer künstlerischen Persönlichkeit."

Cristiana de Marchi, “Pictures for the blind”. Ekrem Yalcindag and Mohammed Kazem in the exhibition series „“

"Ich beschäftige mich mit ephemeren Elementen wie den unmerklichen Bewegungen von scheinbar festen Objekten und Situationen und dem Vergehen der Zeit. Alles ist ständig in Bewegung, während die Zeit vergeht: Man kann die Zeit nicht festhalten, und doch existiert man in ihr. Wir können diese universelle Bewegung nicht visuell wahrnehmen; unsere eigene Existenz ist in Bewegung. [...] die meisten meiner Projekte stellen Bewegung dar, ohne sie zu visualisieren". (Mohammed Kazem)

Cristiana de Marchi, “Mohammed Kazem”, in Eungie Joo, Ryan Inouye (eds.), The Past, the present, the possible. Sharjah Biennial 12, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2015, pp. 252-259, 252

"Die Arbeiten von Ekrem Yalcindag sind subtil: Sie berühren Kontexte, lassen sie aber auch ruhen. Geometrie, Abstraktion und Konkretion tauchen in seinen Werken auf wie diskrete genetische Spuren einer Verschmelzung verschiedener formalästhetischer Welten. Doch kaum glaubt man, sie entdeckt zu haben, verschwinden sie schon wieder". (Dorothea Strauß)

Dorothea Strauss, “Foreword”, in Dorothea Strauss, Christoph Doswald (eds.), Ekrem Yalcindag, Kehrer, 2013, pp. 3-7, p. 6

 

Die Frankfurter Philosophin Angelica Horn und die in Dubai lebende Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin Cristiana de Marchi wurden beauftragt, Essays zur Ausstellung zu schreiben, die nach der Veranstaltung hier veröffentlicht werden.

 

Über die Künstler:

Mohammed Kazem (geboren 1969, Dubai) lebt und arbeitet in Dubai. Er hat eine künstlerische Praxis entwickelt, die Video, Fotografie und Performance umfasst, um neue Wege zu finden, seine Umgebung und Erfahrungen zu erfassen. Die Grundlagen seiner Arbeit sind durch seine Ausbildung als Musiker geprägt, und Kazem beschäftigt sich intensiv mit der Entwicklung von Prozessen, die flüchtige Phänomene wie Klang und Licht greifbar machen können. In seinen Arbeiten verortet sich Kazem oft selbst und reagiert auf geografische Gegebenheiten, Materialität und die Elemente als Mittel zur Behauptung seiner Subjektivität, insbesondere in Bezug auf das rasante Tempo der Modernisierung in den Emiraten seit der Gründung des Landes.

Kazem war zu Beginn seiner Karriere Mitglied der Emirates Fine Arts Society und gilt als einer der "Fünf", einer informellen Gruppe emiratischer Künstler - darunter Hassan Sharif, Hussein Sharif, Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim und Abdullah Al Saadi -, die an der Spitze der konzeptionellen und interdisziplinären Kunstpraxis stehen. Im Jahr 2012 schloss Kazem seinen Masterstudiengang in Bildender Kunst an der University of the Arts in Philadelphia ab. Seit 1986 nimmt er an den Jahresausstellungen der Emirates Fine Arts Society in Sharjah sowie an zahlreichen Ausgaben der Sharjah Biennale teil und erhielt 1999 und 2003 den ersten Preis für Installationen. 2007 war er Kurator der Sharjah Biennale. In den letzten Jahren hat Kazem an mehreren Gruppenausstellungen im Mori Art Museum (2012), der Boghossian Foundation (2013), dem Gwangju Museum of Art (2014) und der Fotofest Biennale in Houston (2014) teilgenommen. Er hat dreimal auf der Biennale von Venedig ausgestellt: 2009 als Teil einer von Catherine David kuratierten Gruppenausstellung, 2013 vertrat er die VAE mit einer immersiven Videoinstallation mit dem Titel Walking on Water, die von Reem Fadda kuratiert wurde, und 2015 zeigte er Werke aus der Serie Tongue bei 1980 - Today: Exhibitions in the UAE, kuratiert von Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimi. Seine Werke befinden sich in den Sammlungen des British Museum, des Guggenheim Abu Dhabi und New York, des Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Ullens Centre for Contemporary Art, Sharjah Art Foundation, Barjeel Art Foundation und Vehbi Koç Foundation, um nur einige zu nennen.

 

Ekrem Yalcindag wurde 1964 in Adıyaman geboren. Er schloss sein Studium an der Fakultät für Bildende Künste der Dokuz-Eylül-Universität in Izmir 1989 ab. Sein Masterstudium an seiner Alma Mater schloss er 1993 ab. Zwischen 1994 und 1999 studierte er bei Prof. Hermann Nitsch an der  Stadelschule Frankfurt.

Mit geometrischen und floralen Mustern, die das Handwerk preisen, stellt er die Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Design her, indem er die traditionellen Techniken der Malerei adaptiert. Während die Muster durch Wiederholung und Interaktion miteinander eine visuelle Täuschung erzeugen, stehen sie im kulturellen Kontext für Zeitlosigkeit (Vergangenheit-Gegenwart-Zukunft). 

Yalcındag erhielt Stipendien und nahm 2001 am Gastkünstlerprogramm in Schloss Balmoral und 2003 in der Villa Waldberta in München teil. Er hat zahlreiche Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in der Türkei und in Europa bestritten.

Seine Werke sind in vielen öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen zu sehen, darunter die Allianz-Sammlung in München, Borusan in Istanbul, EPO in Lahey, Sammlung Goetz in München, Istanbul Modern Art Museum in Istanbul, Kunstmuseum in Stuttgart und Rückversicherung in München.

Derzeit lebt und arbeitet Yalçındağ in Istanbul und Berlin.

Über die Werke:

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. L1 - Fluoreszierendes Gelb, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 2021

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. L2 - Fluoreszierendes Gelb, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 2021

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. K1 - Rosa, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. K2 - Rosa, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf gekratztem Papier, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. J1 -  Blau, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf zerkratztem Papier, 2021.

Mohammed Kazem, Nr. J2 -  Blau, 30,5 x 22,9 cm, Acryl auf zerkratztem Papier, 2021.

Die hier gezeigten Arbeiten gehören zu Kazems mittlerweile ikonischer Serie von Kratzern, die er 1990 begann und seitdem in einer Vielzahl von Formaten und sogar Medien weitergeführt hat.

'Die 1990 neu entstandene Serie "Scratches" erinnert ein wenig an seine Impasto-Gemälde. Dabei benutzte er Papier, gelegentlich verstreute Farbe und eine Schere, um die Oberfläche des Papiers in einem organischen Muster rhythmisch zu durchbrechen, meist in einer einzigen Farbe. Die Sättigung des Pigments variierte je nach den Einstichen, die er in das Papier gemacht hatte.' (Paulina Kolczynska).

Ekrem Yacindag, Coloured Black, Durchmesser 150 cm, Acryl auf Leinwand auf Holzkonstruktion.

Die hier gezeigte Arbeit zeigt eine für Yalcindag erstaunliche farbliche Zurückhaltung ohne auf subtile Farbinteraktionen zu verzichten.

Vorherige „Paare" waren:

Jens Lehmann / Paul Zita. Text: Nicoletta Danila

Cristiana de Marchi / Susanne Schwieter. Text: Angelica Horn

Vroni Schwegler / Alex Katz. Text: Angelica Horn

Hannes Norberg / Peter Roehr. Text: Angelica Horn

Martin Holzschuh / Mohammed Ahmed Ibrahim. Text: Cristiana de Marchi

Anja Conrad & Lucas Fastabend. Text Angelica Horn

Susan Donath & Vroni Schwegler. Text Dr. Sonja Müller

Michael Klipphahn & Anna Nero. Text Angelica Horn

Hassan Sharif & Carolin Kropff. Text Cristiana de Marchi, Angelica Horn

 

Demnächst:

Cristiana de Marchi & Günter Zehetner. Text: Angelica Horn.

Die Ausstellung wird freundlicherweise vom Kulturamt Frankfurt unterstützt.

logo_support_edited.png