Textiles + Paintings

Carolin Kropff

Christina Kral

Textiles + PaintingsAusstellung und Open Studio

September 03. 2021, 6 - 22 pm

September 04, 05, 2021, 12 - 6 pm

Studios Lange Strasse 31Lange Straße 31, 1. Floor

60311 Frankfurt am Main


To mark the start of the Frankfurt Galleries 2021 season, we are showing textile works by Carolin Kropff and paintings by Christina Kral in the studios at Lange Strasse 31. In addition to the exhibition, the artists will open their studios for an insight into their respective ways of working.
 
The works in the exhibition stand in stark contrast to each other, but they are united by a deep dedication to continuous experimentation with materials, genres, and the processing of impressions the artists have gathered during their many years abroad. Both see their studio as a laboratory that can be transformed entirely depending on the project. While Carolin's studio accumulatively interweaves ceramic studio, textile printing and painting workshop and workshop space, Christina's studio alternately transforms into a gazebo, a printing workshop or an empty painting space.

The artists

Carolin Kropff's artistic work oscillates between fine arts, crafts, and intermediation of art; it includes painting, graphic arts, textile art, and SEA projects (Socially Engaged Art). Kropff studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (1991-1995) and graduated from the Städelschule Frankfurt (1996 -1998). Between 1989-1991 she worked as a costume assistant and men's tailor at the Theater Dortmund. She completed her apprenticeship as a bespoke tailor at the Maßschneiderei Schmidt, Wiemeringhausen, with distinction (1985-88). From 1999 - 2002 she maintained a studio in Madrid, Spain and 2006 - 2011 in Dubai, UAE. Since 2015 she has been collaborating with British artist and fashion designer Felicity Brown. In 2020 she founded the STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 in Frankfurt am Main. The project work is supported by the Kulturamt Frankfurt and the Frauenreferat Frankfurt. She has three children and lives and works in Frankfurt am Main.
 
Christina Kral artistic practise includes sculpture, installation and painting. In 2008 she was a fellow at Eyebeam, the Art and Technology Center in New York. In 2009 she received a Digital Arts Residency at Teachers College, Columbia University in New York. 2014 she received an Artist Residency at Gasworks in London. Christina holds an MFA in European Media from the University of Portsmouth in the UK and a Diploma (FH) in Visual Communication from Merz Akademie, Hochschule für Gestaltung in Stuttgart, Germany. She has presented her artistic work at art biennials such as Cafa Art Biennial in Beijing, Mine Yours Ours Festival in Rijeka, Anxiety Arts Festival in London and Mercosul Biennial in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Also in group exhibitions at Basis Projektraum in Frankfurt, Bric Art Gallery and X-Initiative in New York, Bauhausarchiv, Museum für Gestaltung, Künstlerhaus Bethanien and District in Berlin, Bethlem Gallery and Space Gallery in London.
 
Studios Lange Strasse 31
Since 2013, the artists and creatives of Studios Lange Strasse 31 use their space in downtown Frankfurt also as a project space for exhibitions and as a laboratory for new formats of interaction.
 
More information
https://studiospacelangestrasse31.net/
Carolin Kropff: https://en.carolinkropff.net/
Christina Kral: https://christinakral.net/



Inforamtion about Corona regulations: here.

Textiles + Paintings

Carolin Kropff  Christina Kral
Textiles + Paintings
Ausstellung und Open Studio
3. September 2021, 18–22 Uhr4. und 5. September 2021, 12–18 Uhr

Zum Saisonstart der Frankfurter Galerien 2021 zeigen wir in den Studios Lange Strasse 31 Textilarbeiten von Carolin Kropff und Malerei von Christina Kral. Zusätzlich zur Ausstellung öffnen die Künstlerinnen ihre Studios für einen Einblick in ihre jeweiligen Arbeitsweisen.

 

Die Arbeiten in der Ausstellung stehen in einem starken Kontrast zueinander, aber sie verbindet eine tiefe Hingabe zum kontinuierlichen Experimentieren mit Materialien, Genres und der Verarbeitung von Eindrücken, die die Künstlerinnen während ihrer langjährigen Auslandsaufenthalte gesammelt haben. Beide verstehen ihr Studio als Labor, das sich je nach Projekt komplett verwandeln kann. Während Carolins Studio akkumulierend Keramikstudio, Textil-Druck und Malwerkstatt und Workshop-Raum ineinander verschachtelt, verwandelt sich Christinas Studio abwechselnd in eine Gartenlaube, eine Druckwerkstatt oder einen leeren Mal-Space.

Die Künstlerinnen

Carolin Kropff künstlerische Arbeit bewegt sich zwischen den Bereichen der Bildenden Kunst, des Handwerks und der Vermittlung von Kunst; sie reicht von Malerei, Grafik, Textilkunst bis zu SEA Projekten (Socially Engaged Art). Kropff hat an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (1991-1995) studiert und der Städelschule Frankfurt (1996 -1998) ihr Studium abgeschlossen. Von 1989-1991 arbeitete sie als Kostümassistentin und Herrenschneiderin am Theater Dortmund. Ihre Herrenschneiderausbildung in der Maßschneiderei Schmidt, Wiemeringhausen, schloss sie mit Auszeichung ab (1985-88). Von 1999 - 2002 unterhielt sie ein Atelier in Madrid, Spanien und 2006 - 2011 in Dubai, VAE. Seit 2015 arbeitet sie mit der britischen Künstlerin und Fashion-Designerin Felicity Brown zusammen. 2020 hat sie den STUDIOSPACE Lange Straße 31 in Frankfurt am Main gegründet. Die Projektarbeit wird vom Kulturamt Frankfurt und dem Frauenreferat Frankfurt unterstützt. Sie hat drei Kinder und lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main. 

 

Christina Kral künstlerische Praxis umfasst Skulptur, Installation und Malerei. 2008 war sie Stipendiatin bei Eyebeam, dem Art and Technology Center in New York. 2009 erhielt sie eine Digital Arts Residency im Teachers College der Columbia Universität in New York. 2014 erhielt sie eine Artist Residency bei Gasworks in London. Christina hat einen MFA in European Media von der Universität in Portsmouth in Großbritannien und ein Diplom (FH) für Visuelle Kommunikation von der Merz Akademie, Hochschule für Gestaltung in Stuttgart. Sie präsentierte ihre künstlerische Arbeit auf Kunstbiennalen wie der Cafa Art Biennial in Beijing, dem Mine Yours Ours Festival in Rijeka, dem Anxiety Arts Festival in London und der Mercosul Biennale in Porto Alegre, Brasilien. Außerdem in Gruppenausstellungen im Basis Projektraum in Frankfurt, der Bric Art Gallery und X-Initiative in New York, dem Bauhausarchiv, Museum für Gestaltung, dem Künstlerhaus Bethanien und District in Berlin, der Bethlem Gallery und der Space Gallery in London.